Mid-term reflection

19556382866_18cde444ab
Photo CC- Alyson Karpovlch

When I first signed up for Digital Literacy, I wasn’t excited for it. English classes hasn’t been my favorite or strongest in so I was bummed out that it was required for me to take it for my degree. I first thought this class would be a regular online English class but I found out it’s a lot more than that. This class is more than just an English class, it has taught and still is teaching me how to use digital tools in my future classroom and be a great teacher someday. After reading the syllabus, I expected to learn a lot about education from this class. At first I thought this class would require a lot of writing long papers but it turned out to be way different than what I thought it would be. I am happy to say that so far, this class has met my expectations. Every week there’s something new to read about or watch, it has been fun to learn all the new things about digital literacy in this class.

The most interesting module so far for me is module 3- Choose your own education. That one was interesting because I liked watching the different TED talks and learning from them. I learn better from watching and listening instead of reading, the TED talks really helped me in learning different things. The most challenging module for me was module 5- Building your PLN. That module was challenging because it was a lot of new information and experiencing different tools to use for PLN. Blogging was new to me, I once told myself that I would never have a blog because I didn’t think I would like blogging. It was challenging for me to get used to blogging and making my page look good. It took a lot of frustration and confusion to make sure I had everything on my post correctly. I am glad I got it figured out and is now enjoying blogging for this class.

This class has been fun and interesting for me, I enjoy what we’re learning each week with different kinds of digital tools. I also enjoy the independent learning project we have in this class. The freedom of choosing what we want to learn and how we want to learn is definitely what a student would like in a class. This class has already taught me a lot on how to be a good teacher someday. I look forward in learning more on using different digital tools and great tips for future classroom. I like the layout of this course and the organization of this class. The deadlines and assignments are very reasonable. This course is a great example of what a class should be like.