project #2-Finished

“It is believed that the earliest forms of crochet were created using a bent finger instead of a hook.”- Interesting information retrieved from http://positivelycrochet.blogspot.com/2011/06/crochet-fun-facts.html

As I was thinking about writing a blog on my progress, I didn’t know how to start the blog. A little fun information I found was that people used their fingers to crochet back in the early stages of crochet. That is one of the coolest thing I’ve found on crochet! I know pencils can be used as crochet material as well which makes crochet fun!

thumbnail_IMG_5631.jpg
Photo CC-Xiyun

This week’s Independent- learning project was practicing on the moss stitch and improving on the skills of crocheting. I started the ear warmer two weeks ago and made a lot of progress on it for two weeks. As I was getting close to being done, I realized that the ear warmer was measuring too big for my head. I ended up having to restart on the ear warmer. The tutorial I was watching called for 19 stitches, but not everyone’s head is the same size so I did mine for 11 stitches. I actually made two ear warmers because I did a 13 after the 19, and realized that it’s still a bit too big for my head and gave that to my roommate.

My goal for next project is to get better at judging the size

thumbnail_IMG_5632.jpg
Photo CC-Xiyun

s and I know I will improve on that the more I practice. From this ear warmer project, I’ve learned the moss stitch and are getting better at it because I practiced a lot! I also learned the zig-zag stitch to connect the ear warmer from this project.

This independent-learning project is going great, I know I will be learning different patterns for more ear warmers and making it for gifts as the holiday season is slowly kicking in. I can’t decide what I am doing for the next project yet but I think it will probably be a hat. I might try different patterns of scarves or headbands and start on people’s gifts since

thumbnail_IMG_5635.jpg
Photo CC-Xiyun

winter is kicking in soon.

I think this independent-learning project is one of the best choice I’ve made and I’m very happy with it. I’ve learned so much from YouTube tutorials and Pinterest. I’m practicing a lot and crocheting whenever I have free time or watching TV shows. I’m really getting the hang of crochet and glad to say that it actually isn’t too hard! If you’re thinking of something to make for your friends and family, crochet something for them! It actually isn’t too hard of a project if you have the interest in it!

 

 

3 thoughts on “project #2-Finished

  1. That is a very interesting technique! Just like everything else, we have come up with technology to improve our accuracy and world. How cool would it be if you made a small project with the techniques used way back when? Not only could you share your work, but you would gain an extra appreciation for your materials. Your ear warmers are very cute! When it comes to size, you could take one of the ones you have already made and measure its circumference with an elastic tape measure. You can then measure your head and use this to help improve the size of your project.

    Like

    1. Yes, it’s cool that people use different materials when they didn’t have what we have now. Also, thank you for the great tips on improving with the judgement of sizes! I bought the crochet kit, and it came with elastic tape measure! I was wondering what I could use that for! Thanks!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment